compositions by AKI YLI SALOMÄKI, concert in Finland, 15 january 2013

compositions by AKI YLI SALOMÄKI, concert in Finland, 15 january 2013

Aki Yli-Salomäki (b. 1972)

  • Uusinta Chamber Ensemble performs compositions by Finnish composer Aki Yli-Salomäki. Free entrance, no intermission, duration of the concert is ca. 1 hour. Welcome!

    Aki Yli-Salomäki (b. 1972) studied composition with Harri Vuori at the University of Helsinki. His music has been described as “deep northern” slow-listening music manifested by grand sonority and soaring melodic arcs. Yli-Salomäki`s music consists mainly of orchestral works and concertos, but smaller character pieces are an important part of his ouvre as well. His music has been performed in Europe, Russia, Mexico, India, United States and Asia


    Odota (2010) for quitar
    Valotomu (2010–2011) for quitar and string quartet (f.p.)
    Täälläolo (2010) for string quartet (f.p.)
    Hohka (2011–2012) for string quartet
    Paikka (2012) for oboe and throat-singer (f.p.)
    Nightfall (2010–2011) for clarinet and string quartet


    Petri Kumela, quitar
    Eeva-Kaisa Rönkä, oboe
    Olli Leppäniemi, clarinet
    Sauli Heikkilä, throat-singing
    Uusinta String Quartet: Maria Puusaari and Annemarie Åström, violins, Max Savikangas, viola, Markus Hohti, violoncello

                              Sauli Heikkilä, throat-singing